As a result of changes to governance arrangements to pension schemes in the public sector, the Isle of Wight Council as an administering authority for the LGPS is required to have in place a local pension board. The role of the board is to assist the Isle of Wight pension fund in complying with all the legislative requirements, making sure the scheme is being effectively and efficiently governed and managed.

The board members work with the Council in its role as an administering authority and with the pension fund’s officers to ensure that your pension scheme is being run properly and that you as a member get the best service.

To comply with requirements imposed by regulations which are enforced by the Pensions Regulator, the members of the local pension board are required to maintain their knowledge and understanding of the LGPS and pensions in general, so receive appropriate training.

The board must have an equal number of employer representatives and scheme member representatives.

Scheme member and employer representatives are appointed to the board for a term of 4 years.

The current local pension board comprises the following members:


Date of appointment

End of term

Scheme Member representatives

Union nomination

Trevor Ould

17 November 2021

November 2025

Direct appointment

Barbara Milton

1 April 2022

March 2026

Direct appointment

Neil Cain

1 April 2022

March 2026

Employer representatives

Isle of Wight Councillor

Cllr Michael Lilley

21 July 2021

May 2025

Isle of Wight Senior Officer

Ashley Curzon

19 January 2022

January 2026

External employer

Liz Kingston

1 June 2022

May 2026

Independent chairman

External appointment

Martin Doyle

7 March 2022

March 2026

Details of the terms of reference, forthcoming meetings and minutes and agendas can be found here.


The next opportunity to be a part of the board will be March 2026.

Board members can seek reappointment at the end of their term.